Yoga Levels

Level 1

A level 1 class is a beginner class where the fundamental yoga poses are introduced. You will learn some basics of yoga, practice breathing techniques, and build confidence in your yoga practice. These classes are designed for students with minimal exposure to yoga as well as the seasoned yogi who wants to return to the basics.

Level 1-2

A level 1-2 class is designed to build on the core poses and gain access to a bit more strength, a little more flexibility, and some more balance. These classes assume you have some yoga experience, but teachers will guide you with good verbal cues to help you through the class. The teachers will also describe modifications and provide verbal guidance to help you with proper alignment in each pose.

Level 2

A level 2 class builds on the foundation of good alignment and the poses are linked with the breath and build on your existing flexibility and stamina. Level 2 classes typically have a strong sequence and a good rhythm and are designed to encourage the evolution of your practice as a moving meditation. These classes are more vigorous and challenging. Level 2 classes are often (but not always) where teachers introduce arm balances and backbends.

Level 2-3

Level 2-3 classes are for intermediate students. Poses may be held longer, and the class may explore physically demanding poses. Teachers will provide verbal cues and guidance to help you push your practice and test your strength. The pace of these classes is quicker and typically allow you to go deeper. Level 2-3 classes are often (but not always) where teachers introduce inversion poses.

Level 3

A level 3 class is for the advanced yoga that appreciates a vigorous practice that involves advanced poses done at a faster pace. The student who takes these classes has plenty of yoga practice and an excellent knowledge of their body's abilities and limits. Level 3 classes are great for self-directed students who are looking for a challenging yoga practice with a high degree of difficulty. A level 3 class may incorporate arm balances, inversions, backbends, a complex sequence and longer hold times.


A senior yoga class is designed for mature students who want to stay flexible and strong. One of the best things about yoga is that it is so adaptable to various populations and diverse physical abilities. Some yoga teachers even specialize in senior yoga. A senior yoga class is gentle and adapted to older students' needs. A senior class may use more props to allow the student to experience the benefits of the poses without causing injury or putting the student at risk. A senior yoga class is designed to help the senior experience greater flexibility, relief from common age-related conditions, and to develop strength.


A chair yoga class is a gentle form of yoga specifically designed to be practiced while sitting. The student may be at work or experiencing some level of physical disability. A chair yoga class typically incorporates breathing exercises and many of the mind-body benefits that are traditionally associated with taking a yoga class. Seniors, people working at their desks for long periods of time, and others can benefit from chair yoga in significant ways. A chair yoga class is about bringing immediate comfort and release for the person sitting in a chair.


Yoga for children is designed specifically for smaller bodies and younger minds. Kids yoga typically includes poses to increase strength, flexibility, and coordination and the benefits to children is amazing. Yoga designed for children is typically fun and may involve animal sounds, creative names for poses, and other playful ways to help children learn to move more freely, with greater ease and awareness. Kids yoga classes are often shorter than a traditional yoga class to suit the attention needs of children.